Anger is fleeting. Scars are everlasting.

Now I’m going to establish this straight away, so you don’t mistake my empathy for experience.  I personally have never self harmed. So, I’m not going to pretend, I have overwhelming knowledge of what people are going through to drive them to harming themselves. What I do know is that self harming takes courage, courage to put a knife to the fire, courage to take brief seconds of pain, which can mean weeks or even months of comfort and relief . No, this isn’t me glamorizing or even comprehending this behaviour. I have known people who have suffered terribly from this disorder and I certainly know that simply saying, “don’t do it ” is worthless.  Oh and yes, I used the word “suffered”, why? Well, what many people don’t realise is self harming is not something you can just stop, it’s not a fad diet nor is it a fleeting trend.

self harming is an addiction.

However, unlike the traditional cocaine and heroin addicts, there is no sanctuary or rehab for self harmer’s. Only a life long persecution of being dubbed as a freak or attention seeker. Goodbye shorts, goodbye spaghetti string tops, hello to a world of uncomfortable summer days and extremely conservative fashion. But this isn’t a post appeasing those who self harm to think otherwise, it’s a blog post to those who look down, those who turn their nose’s and bitch. Think otherwise when you use your cruel words, every action has an equal or even worse reaction to something deeper. Where usually screaming and shouting is the only course of action to escape duress, their pain is their only exit.

Think otherwise when you use your cruel words.

 I have a had plenty experience with self harmer’s and I know there is always an underline cause. Anxiety suffer’s, kids that have lost parents, depressives and victims of being bullied, all issues’ that don’t  just disappear overnight. It takes work, it takes dedication. I have stood and watched the self tribulation, they have inflict on themselves, but I have also been the person to cry on and motivate. See, we all have a choice,

however choice’s are restricted by circumstance.

Therefore if a friend is struggling, in need and their choices are limited, you have the choice to do something about it, like if you are struggling through what ever heartache, your nearest and dearest have THE choice to do something about it.

Don’t be the razor that leaves the scar and do not be the bandage to hide it.

Be the shoulder to cry on, be support system to give hope for then everyone can wear their scars with pride for every day, they look at them, they know that will not be another.

One thought on “Anger is fleeting. Scars are everlasting.

Leave a comment