Everybody wants to go to Heaven, no one wants to die to get there.

This was famously quoted by B.B. King.

A man who fought every prejudice to be finally made immortal as the “king of the blues”

Now this got me thinking, in life, we expect something for nothing. We are beings of rage and frustration, even when the ultimate prize is in sight – we still seek the easy route, not because we are lazy, not because we lack motivation but because it’s human.

Why walk, when we can drive? why swim, when we can sail? Why sail, when we can fly?

Only those who have walked a thousand miles have ever succeeded. We must go through the grit and the sand to get anywhere in life and that is a philosophy that you can take throughout your life. Personally I feel that I have reached this epiphany too late, I’m currently doing my exams and although I have revised, I think to myself couldn’t I of done more, couldn’t I have done any better.

An hour missed of lesson’s, is an hour lost of knowledge and the thing about knowledge is, you have every to gain and nothing to lose, no one can take knowledge away from you.

Being tagged as a truant, is not worth the sacrifice of our dreams. Despite the dull and quite frankly unimaginative nature of lessons, or work, we must journey through the fray to come out victorious. If you want that dream job, do not settle for nothing less. Pay is only circumstantial, joy is everlasting. If you want to be an artist, don’t become a pen pusher. If you want to be a CEO, don’t become a lackey. Yes, circumstances of society may resist us, but if you break through, put the effort in and shine, you can achieve anything you want.

Life is an unfinished sculpture, you are the only one that can mould it.

Leave a comment